Final final all-star votes released

While the press is trying their hardest to turn this into a scandal or controversy, an error was discovered in the calculation of all-star votes  over  the weekend. A simple mistake that could happen to any European sports league.

League accountant Rose discovered two valid ballots in the league commissioner’s gmail account that were not counted in the previously-announced final vote total. They have since been added to the totals and new results are out.

Sepp Blatter, the league’s director of player safety and discipline, insists that the previous numbers should remain as the final, official numbers and that the two ballots that were received before the deadline should not be counted “due to a lack of postage and related shipping fees” despite the fact both were sent by e-mail, which is free. Commissioner Chuck Massaro agreed with Blatter’s logic until Rose emphatically said the 2 ballots should be counted and offered to bake a blueberry pie if they were. Massaro then ruled in favor of allowing the two ballots to count.

“It’s only fair,” Rose said. “These two GMs followed the rules and got their votes in on time. It’s not their fault that a man in this office didn’t get the ballots to the commissioner.”

“General Manager Michael Sauer is going to be General Manager Michael Sour after this,” Blatter said, adding, “He thought he had lobbied enough to get Brendan Gallagher into the game but as I told him, he probably needed another handful of lobbying to ensure it.”

As it turns out, the only substantial change between the initial results and the corrected ones is that Nathan MacKinnon of Belfast has bumped Brendan Gallagher off the list of Northern Conference right wings. MacKinnon now makes the squad and Gallagher will have to stay in Stockholm. Well, in his house in Stockholm, not the arena in Stockholm, where the game is being played. Actually, another Belfast right wing, James Neal, also slipped ahead of Gallagher on the list.

It was not all bad news for the host city because Stockholm rookie John Klingberg gained substantially after the final ballot count and Massaro said he will now start for the Northern Conference on defense with Helsinki’s Jack Johnson.

Here is the final final roster for the all-star game:

Northern Conference

Goalies: Carey Price, Minsk, (46 votes); Alexander Salak, Moscow (25); Braden Holtby, Stockholm (15)

Defense:  Jack Johnson, Helsinki (53); John Klingberg, Stockholm (22); Ryan Suter , Moscow (22); Michael Del Zotto, Minsk (21); Erik Johnson, St. Petersburg (20); John Carlson, Gothenburg (10); Kevin Shattenkirk, London (7); P.K. Subban, Belfast (4); Eric Gelinas, Oslo (4*);  James Wisniewski , Dublin (2*)

Left Wing: Taylor Hall, London (39); Milan Lucic, Minsk (18); Kris Versteeg, Moscow (17), Evander Kane, Belfast (8); Johnny Gaudreau, Copenhagen (0*)

Center: Nicklas Backstrom, Minsk (48); Paul Stastny, Helsinki (16); Adam Henrique, Gothenberg (11); Nazem Kadri, Belfast (7); Claude Giroux, Edinburgh (3*)

Right Wing: Patrick Kane, Minsk (34); Rick Nash, London (29); Nathan MacKinnon, Belfast (7); Dustin Brown, Moscow (7)

Southern Conference

Goalies: Cory Schneider, Munich (31), Robin Lehner, Madrid (28); Frederik Andersen, Geneva (25)

Defense: Alex Pietrangelo, Paris (51); Alexander Edler, Berlin (40); Tyler Myers, Bratislava (25); Kris Letang, Paris (20); Brent Seabrook, Milan (12); Dustin Byfuglien, Lisbon (7); Shea Weber, Madrid (4); Dennis Wideman, Geneva (3); Nikita Zadorov, Munich (3*), Dennis Seidenberg, Bern (2)

Left Wing: Loui Eriksson, Berlin (36); Andrew Ladd, Athens (23); Gabriel Landeskog, Madrid (13); Alexander Galchenyuk, Prague (11)

Center: Evgeny Malkin, Paris (39); Logan Couture, Berlin (23); Anze Kopitar, Athens (22); John Tavares, Lisbon (4); Patrice Bergeron, Zurich (0*)

Right Wing: Ryan Callahan, Berlin (34); Steven Stamkos, Lisbon (17); Patric Hornquist, Berlin (17); Corey Perry, Paris (12); Patrik Berglund, Madrid (5*)

*Added to the team by the commissioner either to get a team represented or to even out the two teams’ rosters numerically.

Also getting votes from the Northern Conference:  James Neal, Belfast (6); Brendan Gallagher, Stockholm (5); Bobby Ryan, Stockholm (4); Duncan Keith, Moscow (4); Dmitri Orlov, London (3); Henrik Lundquist, Helsinki (3); Alexander Radulov, Helsinki (3); Max Pacioretty, Moscow (3); Ryan O’Reilly, Moscow (2); Nikita Nikitin, Oslo (2); Slava Voynov, Copenhagen (1); Ondrej Palat, Belfast (1);  Tyler Seguin, Oslo (1); David Backes, Moscow (1); Jeff Skinner, London (1); Pekka Rinne, Gothenburg (1); Ryan McDonagh, Minsk (1); Adam Larsson, Edinburgh (1)

Also getting votes from the Southern Conference: Jimmy Howard, Berlin (6); Joffrey Lupul, Paris (5); Craig Smith, Munich (4); Jason Krog, Paris (3); Dmitri Kulikov, Prague (2); Jeff Schultz, Prague (2); Filip Forsberg, Munich (2); Talgat Zhailauov, Munich (1); Tyler Ennis, Bratislava (1); Derek Stepan, Madrid (1); Tory Krug, Prague (1); Luca Sbisa, Milan (1); Eric Gryba, Munich (1)





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s